IMG_4294_edited.jpg

Iris is one of the most precious ingredients in perfumery. It gives off a delicate powdery, subtly woody, violet and airy scent that is both powerful and refined.

 

It is the main element of our fragrance ELIXIRIS: very present and associated with an accord of almond heliotrope, it has retained all its elegance and made this fragrance an elixir full of greatness.

The iris is essential in prestige perfumery to bring a powdery and luxurious note, which we find in INNOCENCE IN A SCENT.

 

While iris flowers are prized for their beauty, it is the rhizome (the underground stem of the flower) that is used in perfumery. Initially odourless, these rhizomes must be dried for 3 years. Distillation then produces "iris butter" from which iris absolute is obtained.

In addition to the years of maturation, the profitability of the iris is very low: it takes one ton of iris to obtain only 2 kg of iris butter. This raw material is therefore one of the most expensive in perfumery, often replaced by synthetic products.

IMG_4294_edited.jpg

L’iris est un des ingrédients les plus précieux de la parfumerie. Elle dégage une délicate senteur poudrée, subtilement boisée, violette et aérienne, à la fois puissante et raffinée.

 

Elle est l’élément principal de notre fragrance ELIXIRIS : très présente et associée à un accord d'héliotrope amande, elle a su garder toute son élégance et faire de ce parfum un élixir plein de noblesse.

L’iris est indispensable dans la parfumerie de prestige pour apporter une note poudrée et luxueuse, que l’on retrouve dans INNOCENCE IN A SCENT.

 

Si les fleurs d'iris sont appréciées pour leur beauté, c'est le rhizome (tige souterraine de la fleur) que l’on utilise en parfumerie. Initialement inodores, ces rhizomes doivent êtres séchés durant 3 ans. La distillation donne ensuite du « beurre d'iris » à partir duquel on obtient l’absolue d’iris.

En plus des années de maturation, la rentabilité de l’iris est très faible : il faut une tonne d'iris pour obtenir seulement 2 kg de beurre d’iris. Cette matière première est donc l’une des plus onéreuses de la parfumerie, remplacée bien souvent par des produits de synthèse.